Semper Fi

My grandparents, Bob and Dona Petsel.

My grandparents, Bob and Dona Petsel.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Tomorrow marks the 211th birthday of the Marines. The U.S. Marine Corps was created by an act of Congress on July 11, 1798.

My grandpa Bob and his brother Joe were Marines.  My cousins Justin and David are Marines; my cousin Robert will return to boot camp and finish his training should his knees allow it.  My cousin Maria is a Marine wife, and my Aunt Teri and Uncle Jim have been Marine parents to three boys, one of whom has served in Iraq. My friend Annette Stimmel is also a Marine wife, as her husband Brad served in the 1990s.

David at his promotion ceremony.

Sergeant David Dotson at his promotion ceremony.

I’m pretty much a bleeding heart liberal, but I couldn’t be more proud of these men and their families.  No matter what I think about war or the military, the Marines and the rest of our armed forces make sacrifices so pacifists like me don’t have to, and I am grateful.

Robert Dotson and Sergeant David Dotson

Robert Dotson and Sergeant David Dotson at Camp Pendelton

7 thoughts on “Semper Fi

  1. I too am proud of our men and women in service. Thanks for such a loving tribute. It is because of their dedicated service we get to live the life of freedom. Blessings to them all!

  2. As the daughter of a man who walked on the beaches of Normandy the day after D-Day in 1944, I am proud of them all. My dad was lucky – the shell that landed 5 ft. in front of him on that day, didn’t go off. That’s why we were able to celebrate his life for 93 years…

    • Yes, you’re not the first person to mention that. It appears there are a couple of different dates on record for the Marine Corps – it was officially created by an Act of Congress on 7/11, but there must be another date of significance on 11/10. Either way, the sentiment is the same.

Leave a Reply

