things that make me happy

During my massage Jennifer mentioned gratitude as an easy way to help relieve stress, as the mental effects definitely resonate physically.  While I try to be thankful every day, there’s always room for more. Here are a few things that I appreciate right now (try not to get grossed out by my enthusiasm):

  • The aforementioned massage. I try to get at least 90 minutes a month. I wish I could go every day. It makes me feel better in every way imaginable. And my masseuse is a gift from God.
  • My black linen pants that feel like sweatpants. Nice enough for work, yet accommodating after a week of indulging.
  • Typewriters, notecards, and wooden boxes. The picture below is my idea of beauty.

poetichome-perpetualanniversarygift

  • This quote Annette sent me: “I’m selfish, impatient, and a little insecure. I make mistakes, I am out of control, and at times hard to handle but, if you can’t handle me at my worst, then you sure as hell don’t deserve me at my best. ” -Marilyn Monroe
  • A weekend full of nothing. I love to plan, but there’s something pretty great about turning off the phone and computer, shutting out the world, and just being for a couple of days.
  • My wonderful friends, particularly Jenn and Annette. I can’t say enough good things about them. I’d be lost without them in my life.
  • This print:


I have it framed and hanging up in our bedroom. I never want Jason to forget I love him and I’m on his side.

3 thoughts on “things that make me happy

  1. I love it. I’m thankful for you! I have an app on my ipod touch called “gratitude” where you record things you are thankful for everyday. I was reviewing it last night. It’s a great exercise – I’ve learned that even on the worst days, I have no problem finding a good 5 things to be thankful for. Yesterday’s list: my kids, the ability to begin again, my freedom, my bed, my mom. Last week: flowers, oil pastels, ebay, Nicky and kittens.
    Love you!

  2. I’m pretty thrilled I rank up there with flowers and kittens. If I’m reading you correctly (and I think I am), it sounds like someone’s next in line for her own series of Trapper Keeper covers!

Leave a Reply

