oldest.

Birth order and family are fascinating subjects. An article about birth order in the New York Times has me thinking about the subject again. As the oldest child, I’ve often wondered if coming first is the reason I’m so bossy, or if I just take after my mom and my aunts and perhaps I’d be bossy anyway. I know for certain that I’m a different person around my family, much in the same way I fall into different personality patterns with people I knew when I was young but I don’t see on any sort of regular basis. I guess you get an identity early in your relationship with people, and unless you grow together it’s hard to shake that original mantle. This is especially true with family, because everyone has their place in the hierarchy and to change where you fit, you have to change everything. Aside from corporations, I think families are the worst places to try to change things. Sometimes that’s good – but when you’re trying to become the person you think you truly are, it can be a huge pain.

*****

Completely unrelated, but this photo(shop) always makes me laugh out loud.

Completely unrelated, but this photo(shop) always makes me laugh out loud.

One thought on “oldest.

Leave a Reply

