5k.

In thirteen days, I’m participating in a 5k run/walk for the National Lung Cancer Partnership and Free to Breathe organizations, charities that support lung cancer research. I signed up for the walk on the spur of the moment because I wanted a deadline, a reason to get fit. I wanted to force myself to move and be held accountable for exercising. At the same time, I wanted to do it for a good cause. My grandpa, Bob Petsel, died of lung cancer. So did my friend Annette’s father, Pat Knebel. They were two great, well-loved men, both lost early due to a horrible disease. 

For most people, walking a 5k is not a big deal. It’s only 3.2 miles. But I’ve been in horrible shape for a long, long time, and while I’m at the point where I can do the walk, I’m nervous I’m going to embarrass myself by taking forever to cross the finish line. Still, I know I can do it, and I’m proud that my sweat will help someone else.

I’m $35 away from my fundraising goal. Feel free to donate – even $5 will help.  And don’t worry – I’ll write about the details after the race. I’m sure something hilarious, embarrassing, or, if I’m lucky, inspiring will happen.

http://participate.freetobreathe.org/goto/nickyskubal  If you prefer, you may send your contribution by mail to the address listed below using this downloadable donation form:

National Lung Cancer Partnership
22 N. Midvale Blvd., Suite 6
Madison, WI 53705

 
 
2 thoughts on “5k.

Leave a Reply

