easy reader.

It’s no secret that I have a temper. However, I don’t know if anything makes me as angry as the idea of banning books. It’s just plain ignorant. Sure, not every book is right for every kid. Hopefully parents are paying attention to what their kids are reading, talking about books with them, and helping them make the appropriate choices.  But I’m not a kid, and NO ONE has the right to tell me what I can read. Ever. 

Celebrate Banned Book Week by reading a book that someone else wants to protect you from. If you’re not sure where to start, try something by a dead white American male icon like Steinbeck, Twain, Miller, Hemingway, or Fitzgerald.  And hug a librarian while you’re at it. The good ones do more to protect our intellectual freedom than we’ll ever know.

This is too funny. Go Ask Alice was written as anti-drug propaganda, a way to scare kids straight. And now it's on the banned book list. I'm certainly not touting the merits of this book - it's terrible. I just think it's ironic the protectors are trying to ban a book that was written to protect kids in the first place.

This is too funny. Go Ask Alice was written as anti-drug propaganda, a way to scare kids straight. And now it's on the banned book list. I'm certainly not touting the merits of this book - it's terrible. I just think it's ironic the protectors are trying to ban a book that was written to protect kids in the first place.

3 thoughts on “easy reader.

Leave a Reply

