message.

Today Leo Babauta’s  Zen Habits blog highlights this powerful quote from Gandhi:

My life is my message.

Mahatma Ghandi.

Those of you who know me understand I pretty much deal with life with two emotions – humor or anger, or a combination of the two. The good (and the bad) part about the Zen Habits post and Gandhi’s quote is that it’s got me thinking about what message my life sends. And I don’t know if it’s the one I want out there for the world to interpret. Not that I’m so worried about what other people think, but lately I have been thinking about what sort of legacy I’ll leave behind, what sort of paper trail others will use to decipher my fascinating life. Am I making the best possible mark on this planet, in the minds and hearts of my loved ones? And am I balancing that with a life that leaves me emotionally and mentally gleeful, curious, and safe? Probably not.

So, yeah,  I’m working on my message. The handwriting will be all over the place, but it’s going to be funny, different, probably misspelled in places, but it will be all mine. And it will resonate. I know this. On a completely related note, I turn 35 in less than a week. I’ve been trying to compile some of the wisdom that I’ve come up with during my colorful years. Here are two thoughts that keep coming back:

Good hair is subjective. Good haircuts are not.

Oh, how I’ve learned that the hard way. 

It’s not the quantity of the friends you have, but the quality of your friendships, that’s important.

I’ve really come to understand this over the past few months. I’ve also realized that people can come back into your life and you remember instantly why you adored them in the first place. There are quite a few of you out there who I’ve reconnected with over the past couple of years, and I’m so thankful.

10 thoughts on “message.

    • Thank you! I’m so glad we finally have it on the record – now when you’re a huge superstar I’ll have internet proof.

  1. I am hopeful to just disappear and fade without any trace of having existed when it is said and done, with that premise I work hard at the life I exist within at this moment. I mean this moment. I mean this moment. I mean this moment… you know what I mean. 😉

  2. Bananalog Girl, I am so impressed with you even thinking about leaving a mark on this life and your friends seem equally thoughtful. Your remark about friendship is so very, very true.
    You are a beautiful woman, inside and out.
    Love, Di

  3. Symphonic writing and thoughts. And now I’m wondering, what is my message? Interpreted by many, but is the message really my own? Or is it a product of the “must do, must have” part of me? Good for thought, and now how do we make sure that all that we do is in congruity with all who we are? Great blog. Jennifer

  4. My mom gave me my last haircut because I was broke, and I see by my roots that they are no longer brown but white…still the spark of realization I have every so often that even unconciously I am doing my best to be a good mom, a good wife, a good friend and still be true to my art–that makes me happy. I didn’t know it was called legacy, thanks to you now I do. xo

Leave a Reply

