i don’t wanna be a dentist.

While I feel that I’ve been in the middle of a quarter-life crisis for the past ten years, due to recent changes in my industry (read: job is going away) I have put even more thought lately into what exactly I’m supposed to do with my life. And honestly, I have no idea.

My skills are pretty specific: being bossy, knowing-it-all, remembering all sorts of non-essential information, and being a voracious reader. I can write a press release, marketing plan, or web copy, and I can think of all sorts of ideas – new products, inventions, TV shows – you name it. At the heart of it, I am an idea person. Sadly, no one wants to pay me to just sit around all day and come up with ideas.

Hermey never wavered in his desire to be a dentist - and he had the talent to back up his dreams.

So I wonder, how exactly does one figure out what they’re supposed to be doing with their life (and we’re only talking professionally here – the rest of it will have to wait for another day). Any advice out there? Did you hear angels singing? Are you in your line of work because you needed a job and it’s just easier not to leave? I know we’re not supposed to confuse our identities with our professions, but I don’t know if that’s possible anymore. It’s sort of a you are what you eat, you are what you do for a living type of world. I’d love to understand how other people figure out who, where, and what they’re supposed to be.

Meanwhile, if there are any employers out there looking for someone who can read the hell out of a book, come up with random and varied ideas on demand, write the occasional press release and overall just be really bossy, let me know. I am your ideal candidate!

Leave a Reply

