so long, farewell.

I’ve been working on my best-of-books for 2009 post for a while now, but I really don’t have the drive to finish it today. I’m so glad to close the door on this year – it has been a pretty crappy 12 months for everyone. So many people I love have dealt with upheaval and unhappiness this year, all of it compounded by the economy. The shiny new hope that the presidential election brought wore off pretty fast as I think we collectively realized the previous eight years wouldn’t just melt away. I feel like 2009 was draped in some sort of gray mourning cloth. It was gloomy and dark and while not tragic, just so unappealing. It was hard to get excited about anything.

I had my own struggles in 2009, thankfully nothing I couldn’t overcome with the help of my loved ones – dear family and friends without whom I couldn’t make it. Jason is especially a blessing, as is my Mama (happy birthday!), Jenn and Annette. Thank you.

According to the Chinese zodiac, 2010 is the year of the Tiger – and I was born in the year of the Tiger. It’s also the year of my palindrome birthday (1020 2010). There are a few bumps in the road ahead, but I have a gut feeling 2010 is going to be the best year yet.

So, blessings are counted, resolutions, plans, and to-do lists are being made as we speak, and I’m going to the spa. Life is good, but it’s going to get better – for all of us.

xoxo

Grrr. I'm coming for you, 2010.

2 thoughts on “so long, farewell.

  1. There is no possible way I could have gotten through this past year without you – the unconditional love, laughter, listening ear and shoulder to cry on – you have been my rock. I love you endlessly.

Leave a Reply

