chocolate and cheese.

Tonight Jason and I are spending an evening with Gene Ween at the High Noon Saloon. I have a long, lovely history with the band Ween. Highlights include:

  • When we were 16 Annette and I made t-shirts with iron-on rainbow letters (probably the last time I touched an iron). Hers said Jabba the Hut. Mine? Ween (in rainbow letters, naturally).
  • In 1995 I was in Prague and a bit homesick. I flipped on MTV and Ween’s video for “Freedom of ’76” came on, something I hadn’t seen before and haven’t seen since. I instantly felt better.
  • My friend Tina worked for Elektra (Ween’s label) when we lived in Lawrence. The band toured in support of their 12 Golden Country Greats release in 1996, and they were in Lawrence the weekend of my 22nd birthday. Tina and I went out to dinner with Gene before the show (vegan food). Somehow I got talked into selling the band’s merch for the first few hours of the show that night. The merch table was covered in complimentary birthday shots (lemon drops, if I remember correctly) and by the time I was relieved of my post, an entire box of t-shirts had gone missing and I spent the next hour or so face down in the alley behind the Granada. Let’s just leave it at that.
  • After Tina’s wedding the wedding party took a trolley tour of Seattle (note: there may have been liquor involved). Tina and I sang the Ween classic “Piss Up a Rope” repeatedly to the other revelers. I’d like to think they were delighted, but something tells me that’s not quite the case.

I think the last time I saw Ween live was with my brother in Iowa City. The last time they were scheduled to play in Madison the show was cancelled, and the time before that we were in Seattle for my 33rd birthday.

Damn. I just read the show is postponed until Sunday due to the blizzard of 2010. Meh.

Mr. Richard Smoker. Need I say more?

Leave a Reply

