slumberland.

I have a love-hate relationship with sleep. Without outside help it can take me two or three hours to fall asleep. Then comes the waking up part. No, I don’t drift off and sleep through the night. Sometimes I’ll wake up as often as every hour. As you can imagine my behavior the day (and weeks…) after not getting much sleep is the real nightmare.

This went on for years, until a nice doctor introduced me to my friend Ambien. Or at least the generic equivalent of Ambien. On a bad night it may still take me an hour or so to fall asleep, but then I actually sleep – sometimes for four or five hours straight! It’s truly a miracle.

I’ve heard all the Ambien horror stories – addiction, driving while sleeping, and tons of other erratic behavior. I didn’t think I’d have to deal with any of those issues until the other night.

Tuesday night I took my pill and went to bed. Then I got out of bed and  went online and bought a Wii. And a printer (to be fair, we need the printer and it was on sale and I was going to buy it anyway. Plus, free shipping!). I also bought a cardigan sweater, a game for the Wii, and a rug. That one is the most baffling. I mean, we needed a small rug for the bedroom, but I’m not sure what prompted me to buy one online (but again, free shipping!). I’m a little concerned by my Ambien-induced taste level. It will either be a wonderful success or a daily reminder not to shop while under the influence. Should be interesting.

Leave a Reply

