freedom.

Last night at dinner my friends and I were talking about their jobs, and well, my lack of a job. I have freelance work, so I’m not destitute, but it’s a lot different than the full-time grind. For example, I can start work at 5:30 a.m., unshowered, in my pjs, and take a break every 20 minutes should I get the urge. Oh, and I don’t have to deal with anyone or anything I don’t like. 

Sure, I understand one needs to work on improving life skills, but I’ve worked and dealt with (and am related to) an overly large quantity of difficult, demanding and irritating personalities. My skill set for handling assholes is fairly solid at this point, so much so that I’ve added it to my CV. 

So yeah, as long as I can pay my bills without going into debt, I don’t want to settle for another job that sucks my soul and turns me into one of *those* people. It’s taken me awhile, but between freelance and the project I’m working on with Katy (which I’m woefully behind on, but AM working on – sorry KT!), I hope I don’t have to go back to working for The Man anytime soon.

I wish I could say I'm completely in line with this principle, but I can be bought. I am expensive, though, and I require a lot of time off and unlimited use of the corporate jet.

Leave a Reply

