countdown.

So, we’re headed to New Orleans tomorrow. NOLA. The Big Easy. The Crescent City. Saint City. Nawlins. I wish I had so many nicknames.

Anyway, we’re taking the train (City of New Orleans) from Chicago and will arrive Saturday afternoon. We’re staying in the French Quarter, which will hopefully give us a nice base camp for walking around the city. Local weather predicts heat that feels like 105 degrees and sporadic, heavy rain showers. YES!

Truthfully, I don’t think the weather will matter all that much. I’m looking forward to eating, drinking and dancing my way through one of the world’s most fascinating cultural meccas. It’s hot and humid here, it’ll be hot and humid there. At least there I can eat a beignet 24 hours a day.

Don’t worry, I’ll post pictures and fill you in on our train overnighters. And as long as I’m promising things, I’ll try to do a summer book list next week, since you asked so nicely.

Laissez les bon temps rouler!

Our NOLA hotel. Yes, I think I will go for a carriage ride, thank you.

Leave a Reply

